the underbelly


Black Label Burger
September 8, 2009, 4:15 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

I don’t need to eat another burger ever again. I found my burger soulmate. Unfortunately it’s $26. It’s Minetta Tavern’s Black Label Burger, made with a special blend of meat from Pat LaFrieda. 

I came into the restaurant having read extensively about the burger and honestly believing that it was probably overhyped. It was a burger, how awesome could it be? But then it arrived. I ordered it rare, rare, rare. And that’s how it arrived, which is important. I need for a restaurant to respect my order. I know you’re supposed to order a burger medium rare but I like raw meat. The meat was perfectly charred with a wonderful crust. It’s topped with caramelized onions and nothing else–though I did add tomato, lettuce and, gasp, ketchup. While the burger in no way needed any extra flavor, for me a burger is not a burger without ketchup. But let’s talk about the meat. This was meat at its best. It’s been said that this burger is more like a steak than a burger. I disagree. I just think this is what a burger always longed to be and has only now just become. It was fatty and juicy and you could taste the grassy, bloodiness that is what meat should be. I finished it easily though it was a messy ordeal. And I was utterly satisfied afterwards. I’m not exaggerating when I say that I felt this burger’s deliciousness in my heart. It was like a meaty hug from the inside. I’m sorry, I’m getting a little emotional over this. 

I’m now ruined for all other burgers. 

I don’t have a picture of the burger because the lighting in Minetta was so dim. So instead here’s a picture of one of my cats. 

IMG_0431

I think it’s Dieter.

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

That cat looks delicious.

Comment by Trapp

Hey, I read a lot of blogs on a daily basis and for the most part, people lack substance but, I just wanted to make a quick comment to say GREAT blog!…..I”ll be checking in on a regularly now….Keep up the good work! 🙂 🙂

Comment by REIT




Leave a Reply

