the underbelly


For Once Boston Wins
February 20, 2008, 1:54 am
Filed under: Uncategorized | Tags: ,

I spent the long weekend over in Cambridge with the bfri. It’s a nice change of pace from the big city but usually pales in comparason to the big apple when it comes to things like food, drinks, transportation…most things. But not this past Friday. We went to grab a pre-dinner drink at the Oak Bar, the bfri’s favorite place to feel ultra high class and important due to its oaky-ness, high ceilings, and large scotch selection. (I would have taken pictures but 1. it was a nice night out and I don’t like to mix blogging with pleasure and 2. my camera was out of battery.) So the bfri chose a sort of muddled rum-type drink. It was nice. Good citrus, nice mint….etc….But I chose the best drink ever.

Now let me preface this by saying that I don’t like vodka. I know people say it doesn’t have a taste but that’s not true. It does. It tastes like grain and I’m not into it. Usually my martini is straight gin (Plymouth) with tons of olives. But I decided to be adventurous. I got the pear and blue cheese martini. It consisted of La Poire Grey Goose pear vodka and I believe some sort of pepper infused vodka. Then it was garnished with three blue cheese stuffed olives. Best. Drink. Ever. The pear was so subtle, not sweet like an appletini but soft like, well…like a pear. The pepper added just enough bite to stop the drink from being overly simple and the blue cheese in the olives gave off just the slightest hint of saltiness. I could drink these everyday. I could have made a few of those my dinner, gladly.

Where can I get this in New York? Seriously. It’s making my mouth water just to think about it…..

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

I’m sorry, you know I am OK with vodka and pear vodka sounds pretty good, but blue cheese in my drink??? No thanks. Might as well put bacon in my instant coffee.
And the beer candle baffles me. How can there possibly be a mrket for that???

Comment by Terry Sterling




Leave a Reply

