the underbelly


Spring Has Sprung
April 6, 2010, 1:54 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

It’s that week in New York City: Spring. Unfortunately the little Flatbush worm pictured above jumped the gun. It’s the time of the year when it’s not oppressively hot outside. You can still sleep under the sheets. Jeans aren’t your mortal enemy. And New Yorkers are clamoring to eat outside. It doesn’t matter if it’s on a crowded, dirty street, if trucks are whizzing by or groups of young ruffians are cursing like a gang of old timey pirates. They are going to enjoy their meal outside, damnit.

I am one of those people.

This past weekend I got to have the exactly Saturday afternoon I like to have. It started with a breezy brunch at The Lovin’ Cup out in North Billyburg. The giant, rice and egg filled burrito I had was strictly fair but it was still a great meal. Because I got to drink two of my favorite beverages together.

I think the reason I love New York can be summed up in that picture. Beer and coffee together at last on a glorious Saturday afternoon. Happy is what that picture is. We followed brunch up with some light strolling and then….another drink. Because we could!

A Mojito for me and a Pina Colada for my buddy. We appropriately hit up Surf Bar, which is known for its tropical drinks, clam chowder and for having sand on the floor. Sand on the floor! It’s like being at the beach but instead your in the hipster capital of Brooklyn! And if you jumped in the nearby river you’d probably contract Chlamydia! Well. The drinks are damn good. And I got my greenery for the day, which means it was a healthy day. Just as healthy as if I was one of those crazy people that hikes up mountains or jogs along beaches Saturday mornings only to return home to a bowl of granola and green tea. I’m just like them. Only a lot more fun.


2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

“you’re” not “your”

Comment by Laurence Sterling

nice worm

Comment by Terry




Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

